

## **CONFIDENTIAL – PLEASE DO NOT CIRCULATE**

# FINALISTS EMBARGOED until 7.00AM Wednesday 25 February 2025

WINNERS EMBARGOED until 10.00PM Thursday 20 March 2025

# Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year 2025 Te Pou Whakarae o Aotearoa

## 2025 Finalists (in alphabetical order)

#### Dame Lisa Carrington DNZM (Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau)

Dame Lisa Carrington DNZM (Te Aitanga-a-Māhaki, Ngāti Porou) is a world champion kayaker, and New Zealand's most decorated Olympian of all time. Her outstanding achievements have cemented her influence as a role model for perseverance, excellence and positive change.

#### Professor Bev Lawton ONZM (Wellington Te Whanganui-a-Tara)

Professor Bev Lawton ONZM (Ngāti Porou) is a pioneering force in women's health in Aotearoa. Over the past year, her advocacy led to New Zealand's historic shift to HPV self-testing as the primary method for cervical screening – making Aotearoa the first high-income country to do so.

### Sarah Hirini ONZM (Manawatū-Whanganui)

Renowned rugby union player Sarah Hirini ONZM (Ngati Kahungunu ki te Wairoa) is a true inspiration in the world of rugby. In 2024 – after making an incredible comeback from injury – she played a pivotal role in securing gold for New Zealand at the Paris Olympics.



# University of Canterbury Young New Zealander of the Year 2025 Te Mātātahi o te Tau

# 2025 Finalists (in alphabetical order)

#### Alexia Hilbertidou (Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau)

As the founder of GirlBoss New Zealand, Alexia Hilbertidou is a trailblazing young leader and social entrepreneur. Her mahi has seen her take the stage at some of the world's largest conferences, and she continues to advocate for others through international leadership roles.

#### Ben Purua (Waikato)

Ben Purua (Tainui) embodies resilience, transformation, and hope – emerging from a troubled past to become an inspiring leader in New Zealand's agricultural sector.

#### Nu'uali'i Eteroa Lafaele (Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau)

Nu'uali'i Eteroa Lafaele (Fogapoa, Leulumoega Tuai, Lefaga) is a globally recognised Samoan leader and software engineer from Cannons Creek, Porirua, forging new pathways to bridge the digital divide for Pacific communities in Aotearoa.



# Ryman Healthcare Senior New Zealander of the Year 2025 Te Mātāpuputu o te Tau

## 2025 Finalists (in alphabetical order)

#### **Bill Day MNZM JP** (Wellington Te Whanganui-a-Tara)

As the founder of the Wellington Hospitals Foundation, Bill Day MNZM JP has spent two decades championing healthcare. Under his leadership, the foundation has grown into a vital organisation, positively impacting New Zealanders across the motu.

#### Elizabeth Ellis CNZM JP (Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau)

Elizabeth Ellis CNZM JP (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Porou) is an outstanding Māori artist, advocate and educator whose contributions to Māori arts and culture span several decades.

#### John & Lily Coleman (Northland Te Tai Tokerau)

On the rolling lands west of Kaikohe, farmers John and Lily Coleman have carved off four hectares of land encompassing a historic pā site, and gifted it to local hapu— an impactful reminder to New Zealanders of how we can work together to rebuild whānau connections to the land.



# Spark New Zealand Innovator of the Year 2025 Te Pou Whakairo o te Tau

## 2025 Finalists (in alphabetical order)

#### Ben Phillpotts-Scales and William Murrell (Canterbury Waitaha)

As the co-founders of KiwiFibre, Ben Phillpotts-Scales and William Murrell (Ngāi Tahu) are pioneering sustainable innovation on world stage by harnessing some homegrown goodness: our humble harakeke.

#### Emma Lewisham (Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau)

Emma Lewisham is Co-Founder and CEO of Emma Lewisham, a skincare company established in New Zealand in 2019. Renowned for delivering evidence-based skincare, uniting luxurious, high-performance, and natural formulations while leading the industry in sustainability.

#### Professor Simon Malpas (Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau)

As co-founder and CEO of Kitea Health, distinguished New Zealand scientist Professor Simon Malpas led the development of the world's smallest implantable brain pressure sensor – offering patients a groundbreaking method to monitor brain pressure at home.



# Genesis New Zealand Sustainability Leader of the Year 2025 Te Toa Taiao o te Tau

## 2025 Finalists (in alphabetical order)

#### Biz Bell (Marlborough Te Tauihu-o-te-waka)

With years of experience delivering significant biodiversity gains in Aotearoa New Zealand and globally, Elizabeth (Biz) Bell is a leading force in ecological restoration and predator eradication.

#### Dan Henry (Wellington Te Whanganui-a-Tara)

Dan Henry is the driving force behind Predator Free Miramar, a thriving community project that aims to eradicate introduced predators from the peninsula.

#### **Deborah Manning ONZM** (Otago Ōtākou)

Lawyer turned social entrepreneur, Deborah Manning is a trailblazer in sustainability and food security – transforming New Zealand's food rescue landscape through her venture KiwiHarvest and the NZ Food Network.



# Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year 2025 Ngā Pou Whirinaki o te Tau

## 2025 Finalists (in alphabetical order)

AWHI (Bay of Plenty Te Moana a Toi)

Founded in 2018 by two Tauranga police officers, AWHI is a groundbreaking, tikanga-based initiative that connects people in need with community-based support services.

#### Citizens Commission on Human Rights New Zealand and the Lake Alice Survivors

(name may change - TBC)

(Across Aotearoa)

Over the last five decades, survivors of ill-treatment at the Lake Alice Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Unit – have bravely fought for justice, leading a historic case against New Zealand at the United Nations. With steadfast support from the Citizen's Commission of Human Rights (NZ), lead by their director Mike Ferriss, they have brought long-awaited recognition to thousands.

#### Islamic Women's Council of New Zealand (Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau)

Representing over 35,000 Muslim women from more than 50 ethnic backgrounds, The Islamic Women's Council of New Zealand empowers and advocates for women across Aotearoa, creating a platform for positive change locally and globally.



# Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year 2025 Te Pou Toko o te Tau

## 2025 Finalists (in alphabetical order)

#### Kahira-Rata Olley MNZM (Bay of Plenty Te Moana a Toi)

Kahira-Rata Olley MNZM is a devoted advocate for survivors of domestic violence, Sexual Abuse and generational trauma – founding a range of support programmes and initiatives in the Rotorua community.

#### Subash Chandar K (Auckland Tāmaki Makaurau)

Subash Chandar K – known online as 'infinityplusone' – is a game-changing educator who has made a significant impact on students across Aotearoa, creating a popular YouTube channel that provides free, detailed tutorials covering NCEA mathematics.

#### Tāme Iti (Bay of Plenty Te Moana a Toi)

Tāme Iti (Ngai Tūhoe, Te Arawa, Waikato) is a well-known champion for Māori rights, fearlessly and creatively challenging conventional narratives. In 2024, he led a powerful hīkoi to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, serving as both an inspiration and a call to action.